ADEM Election 1/27/19 – Save the Date

Sunday, January 27, 2019 – for ADEM election. We have a fantastic SMDC-based Progressive Slate this year. Would love to have your vote then. If you would like to volunteer to help with registration or vote counting, Nicole Phillis is convening the election. 

December 15: SMDC Annual Holiday Party and Toy Drive

Join us Saturday, December 15, 5pm-8pm, at The Albright.

After a long year of hard work and campaigning, it’s finally time to celebrate our victories this season. Please join us Saturday, December 15, 5-8pm, for the Santa Monica Democratic Club’s annual holiday party and toy drive.

Please bring a new unwrapped toy or gift for kids of any age as your admission. We will collect these gifts to donate to a local charity which will distribute the gifts to children in need this holiday season.
Date:  Saturday, December 15, 2018
Time:  5:00pm – 8:00pm
Place: The Albright
           258 Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica, CA 90401

Our Endorsements!

The Santa Monica Democratic Club has issued the following endorsements in advance of the November 2018 General Elections:

US Senator: Kevin de León
US House: Rep. Ted Lieu
State Senator: Ben Allen
State Assembly: Richard Bloom

Governor: Gavin Newsom
Attorney General: Xavier Becerra
Secretary of State: Alex Padilla
Controller: Betty Yee
Treasurer: Fiona Ma
Insurance Commissioner: Ricardo Lara
Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tony Thurmond

Board of Equalization: Tony Vazquez
LA County Sheriff: Alex Villanueva
LA County Assessor: Jeffrey Prang
LA County Board of Supervisors: Supervisor Sheila Kuehl

City Council: 
Sue Himmelrich
Kevin McKeown
Greg Morena

Rent Control Board:
Nicole Phillis
Naomi Sultan
Steve Duron

SMMUSD School Board:
Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein
Oscar de la Torre
Laurie Lieberman

SMC College Board:
Louise Jaffe
Nancy Greenstein
Sion Roy
Barry Snell

Local Ballot Measures:
YES on W
Statewide Ballot Measures:
Prop 1 – YES
Prop 2 – YES
Prop 3 – NO
Prop 4 – YES
Prop 5 – NO
Prop 6 – NO
Prop 7 – YES
Prop 8 – YES
Prop 10 – YES
Prop 11 – NO
Prop 12 – YES
Judicial Office #4: A Veronica Sauceda
Judicial Office #16: Patti Hunter 
Judicial Office #60: Tony Cho
Judicial Office #113: Javier Perez
The rest is up to you: VOTE on November 6!!

FLIP THE HOUSE – Just a few weeks left!

Just a few weeks left to Flip The House. Want to get involved? The Santa Monica Democratic Club has you covered:
The Westside Democratic HQ is located at 1027 Westwood Blvd in Westwood Village, 90024. Join us any time to call into our targeted House districts, especially Saturdays 1pm-4pm for the SMDC-hosted shift.

Contact the HQ to find out what you can do today:
(424) 402-8111

CA 2018 Primary Results

Last night, we saw the results of our tireless GOTV work at the Westside Democratic HQ. After 40,000 phone calls, thousands of doors knocked, and several in-district rallies, Democrats advanced to the Top Two in all of our targeted House districts! Thank you to the staff and volunteers of the Westside Democratic HQ for their hard work in making this happen! We are taking two days off at the HQ, and then on Friday it’s back to work for the general election!
Join us soon:
Donate to the HQ here.

Although the ballots are still being counted, we have compiled a list of preliminary results for your reference. The following candidates have advanced to the general election. Democratic candidates are in blue. Republican candidates are in red.  An asterisk* denotes an SMDC-endorsed candidate.

Governor – Gavin Newsom, John Cox
Lieutenant Governor – Eleni Kounalakis, Ed Hernandez
US Senator – Dianne Feinstein, Kevin De Leon*
Attorney General – Xavier Becerra, Steven Bailey
Insurance Commissioner – Ricardo Lara*,  Steve Poizner
Secretary of State – Alex Padilla*, Mark Meuser
Controller – Betty Yee*, Konstantinos Rodtis
Treasurer – Fiona Ma*, Greg Conlon
Superintendent of Public Instruction – Tony Thurmond*, Marshall Tuck

Board of Equalization, District 3 – Tony Vazquez*, Rick Marshall
Congress (CA-33) – Ted Lieu*, Kenneth Wright
CA Senate (SD-26) – Ben Allen*, Baron Bruno
Assembly (AD-50) – Richard Bloom*
LA County Sheriff – Alex Villanueva*, Jim McDonnell</span

Ballot Measure Results
Ballot Measure 68 – YES
Ballot Measure 69 – YES
Ballot Measure 70 – NO
Ballot Measure 71 – YES
Ballot Measure 72 – YES
(All five of our endorsed positions succeeded.)