Upcoming Meetings – Feb. 10 & 18

Please join us on Saturday, February 10, 2018 to hear Senator Kevin de Leon – candidate for U.S. Senate and Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa – candidate for CA Governor at a special meeting.
PLACE: Santa Monica Public Library – MLK Auditorium
TIME: 11:30am to 2:00pm
Doors open at 11:00am.

On Saturday February 17, 2018 we will host Dave Jones and Ricardo Lara. Dave Jones is our current Insurance Commissioner running for CA Attorney General and Ricardo Lara is a current CA State Senator running for Insurance Commissioner.
PLACE: Santa Monica Public Library – MLK Auditorium
TIME: 10:00am to 1:00pm
Doors open at 9:30am.

Our Next Meeting – Wednesday Jan. 31

Date: Wednesday, January 31, 2018
Time: 7:00-9:00pm
Location: Santa Monica Public Library – MLK Auditorium
601 Santa Monica Blvd., Santa Monica 90401

Please join us on January 31 to hear from the next candidate in our gubernatorial series.

  • Treasurer John Chiang — running for Governor of CA will address the club followed by Q and A.

Our executive board will be available at 6:30pm. Come early and meet us!
Be sure to renew your membership for 2018, either in person at one of our membership meetings or online via this secure ActBlue link. This year, our club will be making endorsements in every single statewide and local race before the June primary and November general election. Only club members in good standing can cast a vote in these endorsement votes.

Meet 2 Candidates for Statewide Office on Thursday, November 30

DATE: Thursday, November 30, 2017
TIME: Doors open at 6:30pm; Program starts at 7:00pm
PLACE: Santa Monica Public Library – MLK Auditorium
601 Santa Monica Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401

We will hear from two candidates running for statewide office in 2018:
• Delain Eastin, Former Superintendent of Public Instruction and 2018 Candidate for Governor
• Fiona Ma, Chair of the California Board of Equalization and 2018 Candidate for Treasurer

For first time and new members, the Executive Board of the club will be available from 6:30 to 7:00pm for an informal meet and greet. The main program will start at 7:00pm. The event is free and open to the public. Light refreshments will be provided. Parking available. Handicap accessible.

Lt. Governor Gavin Newsom to Address SM Democrats on November 4

Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom will join the Santa Monica Democratic Club at a special event on Saturday, November 4!

Date:  Saturday, November 4, 2017
Time:  Doors open @ 11:00am, Event: 11:30pm-1:30pm
Place: Santa Monica Main Library – MLK Auditorium
601 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica

As the 2018 midterm season grows closer every day, SMDC is kicking off its series of meetings with candidates running for Governor of California.

First up, at a special day and time of November 4 at 11:30am, Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom will join us at the Santa Monica Library to discuss his campaign for governor.

Help Get Out The Vote in Virginia After Gavin Newsom Q&A This Saturday 11/4

There are critically important elections coming up around the country on November 7th, and the Santa Monica Democratic Club is hosting a Get Out the Vote phonebook in partnership with Code Blue on SATURDAY November 4th.  We’re focusing on flipping state legislative seats in Virginia from red to blue and fending off the chance that the Trump-supported, race-baiting Republican Ed Gillespie will defeat the Democratic candidate Ralph Northam in the tight race for governor.

The phonebank is being held in the community room at the Santa Monica Public Library Main Branch, from 1:30 to 4:30 p.m., following a separate event we are hosting — a Q&A with CA Lt. Governor Gavin Newsom, who is running for governor.  The Gavin Newsom event, the first in a series in which we are presenting all the Democratic gubernatorial candidates, will be held in the Library’s Martin Luther King Jr. Auditorium, and will run from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., leaving time for a short break before the phonebank that begins at 1:30 p.m.

An experienced Code Blue leader will get everyone up to speed and working those phone lists for simple Get-Out-the-Vote messages. (You won’t need to persuade people, just relay reminders to vote and how to get info about polling place locations, rides to the polls, and the like.)  Easy and fun!  You don’t need to stay for the entire session, but if you have not phonebanked with Code Blue before, please plan to be there at the beginning so you can receive the necessary training.

Snacks and beverages will be provided, we just need YOU!  Bring your passion to flip VA blue and your own cellphone, laptop / iPad / tablet, and chargers for your devices.  We’ll provide everything else needed to help you make a difference on this key, bellwether election.  Hope to see you November 4th!