Candidates, News


On April 25, at the regularly scheduled meeting of the Santa Monica Democratic Club, with a quorum present, the membership of SMDC voted to endorse the following candidates running in the June 5, 2018, California primary election:

US Senator – Kevin de León
Attorney General – Dave Jones
Insurance Commissioner – Ricardo Lara
Secretary of State – Alex Padilla
Controller – Betty T. Yee
Treasurer – Fiona Ma
Superintendent of Public Instruction – Tony Thurmond
Board of Equalization, District 3 – Tony Vazquez
Congress (CA-33) – Ted Lieu
CA Senate (SD-26) – Ben Allen
Assembly (AD-50) – Richard Bloom
LA County Sheriff – Alex Villanueva

No consensus was reached in the Governor and Lieutenant Governor races after two rounds of balloting. We will reconsider these two races after the primary is held.